Alts are bad.

October 19, 2009

altsaltsalts

Let me explain.

I think if we were given limitations to how many characters we’re allowed, this wouldn’t be the game for me. I mean, there’s only nine per server, but that’s not necessarily bad; it just gives people obsessed with making alternative characters in different communities to meet different people and have a different experience. In general, I am obsessed with making new characters and leveling them. I’ve leveled nearly every class to at least forty and many to 80 (or near it, anyway); it’s just part of the hobby for me. Some people like to think their characters are intricate enough to keep their full attention, which is true, and then there are people like me that believe this game has so much to offer and every option should be explored.

And then they are, and a specific problem comes up; characters you once loved or characters you want to give a try wind up never getting used. I leveled a rogue not too long ago that I completely adore. I’d love to get some progression and gear on him, but the people I play with are constantly demanding my help on my admittedly more useful healer character. In a similar respect, the paladin I started the game with is getting increasingly dusty as time goes on; too much of my time is spent on the shaman. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret making a shaman and it’s really fun to play, but with so many people relying on the character these days (the character I had originally established as an ‘alt’ that I would only play every now and then to keep in contact with my sister), there are a lot of missed opportunities. I likely won’t get much of a chance to play that new character, and my old ‘main’ that I loved so dearly has been staring at me from afar with longing eyes.

Alts cause problems, that’s for sure. Sometimes I wish I was the type of person to be a one-character-guy; it’d make things a lot simpler. I’m just such a fan of the leveling and learning process, though, and it puts me in these situations. So, as of late, I’ve tried my best to get back to my roots. I’ve ignored demands and made excuses not to go play on the shaman (who I get increasingly depressed by; horde just really isn’t my style after all) and my silver-handed human has been seeing quite a lot of action. The one sad thing is that things are not as they used to be. For some reason he found himself on a strange server where I know absolutely nobody and I’m in some guild with a bunch of Australians who probably wince at my voice every time I get into their vent just because I don’t sound like they do. Still, with all that, it’s been loads of fun healing on the character again. I truly think paladin healing is some of the most challenging healing in the game and I know I’m better at it than I am at any of my other characters, so it’s been nice to be able to show that and impress some strangers with my mighty divine hand. Plus he’s a human so that automatically makes him the best; there’s no race that can top ’em.

So here’s my advice: Don’t make too many alts. You’ll get backed into a corner and it’ll feel extremely awkward and people will go as far as to make you feel bad for wanting to play the game the way you want to play it. If you enjoy your main character and don’t really get too burned out, don’t be too curious–it could be your undoing. If you’re like me and you don’t have control over the amount of characters you make, well, best of luck to you. It’s gonna suck.

-Charles-

Leave a Reply

